Life

Healthy is a Lifestyle

tumblr_m57a9lFO1d1qbktnm

Working out/going to the gym: what brings excitement to some yet spikes fear in others… I, for one, definitely lean more towards the fear side. I’ll admit, the gym intimidates me. I know it’s all in my head and most of my insecurities stem from a lack of confidence in not wanting to make a fool of myself. I have absolutely no clue what to do at the gym nor do I have an accountable “work out partner” to help.

Although I’ve always seemed to have a pretty active lifestyle, I’ve never been one to stick to a work out regime more than a week. In high school I cheered which required mandatory workouts of running bleachers and lifting weights in the summers, and practice every weekday during the fall. I also took a weights class at least one semester every year. Cheering continued into college, but besides our practices, you’d rarely see me in the gym. And certainly by no means have I ever eaten healthy. My diet consists of over processed junk food and soda. I have no aversion to healthy foods but it’s for sure not the cheapest or easiest lifestyle. I am in no way what someone would consider “fat,” but I definitely have insecurities about my body as much as the next person. I don’t feel my best and always seem to be tired with no energy.

To me, being healthy is not necessarily physical but also spiritual. Growing up in church then accepting Jesus into my heart and being baptized at age 7, I would consider myself a Christian. There is always room to have a closer relationship with Christ and lately I feel that the Lord has really laid this on my heart. I don’t read my bible like I should nor do I attend church regularly and I feel like my life is definitely lacking something: more of Jesus.

Hopefully by writing this blog it will help me to become more accountable to myself as I begin this journey towards a better lifestyle of getting into (and staying in) shape, eating healthier, and growing my relationship with Jesus.

“Beloved, I pray that all may go well with you and that you may be in good health, as it goes well with your soul.” 3 John 1:2

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

