Wedding

A new chapter…

July 22, 2015 will now always hold very special place in my heart. In the middle of the kitchen of Copper Beech Townhomes in our little college town of Statesboro, Georgia, while I looked a hot mess in sweats and a bun, my high school sweetheart proposed. Jake had this elaborate proposal planned for the following Saturday in Sweetheart Circle with our family and friends all around, but true to form, he just couldn’t wait. It didn’t help that I was starting to get suspicious and ask questions about the story he told me to get there, but my female intuition told me something was up. He had just gotten home from work, a twelve hour shift at St. Joseph’s Candler hospital in Savannah, and told me to come help him in the kitchen. Never in a million years did I expect him to drop down on one knee and present me with the most beautiful diamond ring I have ever seen. After what felt like an eternity of him anxiously looking up at me following a speech that brought tears to my eyes, I finally asked him why he had not put it on my finger yet, then only to find out that I still hadn’t answered him (I guess I did in my mind!). The only problem came when he filled me in on his original proposal plan. What to say to everyone who was supposed to show up on Saturday? We seriously considered hiding it from everyone and pretending that Saturday was the actual day that he proposed. However, for one, I’m a horrible actress and everyone would have known right away, but mainly I did not want to take away from the perfect moment of just him and I and the sweetest proposal filled with so much love.


Our love story isn’t this epic tale where we had to beat all the odds and overcome tons of obstacles  to finally be together. We started “going out” as 14 and 15 year old children and over the years our love just grew with us, as we got older and matured. Of course we have had our ups and many downs over the course of our relationship but along the way one thing has remained constant; the love we have for one another. I would not want to go through life and experience it with any other person. God truly has blessed us and I am so thankful to have found my soul mate and absolute best friend. I cannot wait to walk down that isle and finally be a Youmans.

IMG_5678

With love (& lots of happiness),

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

