Wedding

Another Reason to Love Fall

It’s officially official! We have chosen the date and location of our wedding… October 22, 2016 at the Georgia Southern University Botanical Gardens in Statesboro, Georgia. Up until now our wedding has always felt like an abstract concept, and now that we have concrete plans, I’m even more excited. I get to move on from my Pinterest boards to actual wedding planning! We knew from the beginning that we did not want a summer wedding in South Georgia and since I do not graduate until May, spring was out too. The only draw back is that our date is smack dab in the middle of football season in a college town, which is one of the reasons why we had not chosen a specific date yet. I wanted to wait as long as possible to see if the Eagles 2016 schedule would come out, but I couldn’t hold off any longer because the fall is prime wedding season (and judging by my Facebook timeline, there will be several weddings next fall), and all the venues are starting to fill up.

Jake and I visited only two potential wedding locations, Callawassie Island in Okatie, South Carolina and the GSU Botanical Garden. Callawassie was beautiful and located in a community out on the marsh. It’s only about forty-five minutes from our home in Effingham County, but it would take over three hours for my Baxley family to get there. A couple of weeks later we took a tour of the Gardens, and although I’ve been in Statesboro for almost four years now, I have never been. Not only was it absolutely gorgeous, it is really unique with such cool history. Although the location could not be any more perfect for all of our friends and family, it just makes sense for us to get married in our little college town that means so much to us.

Old Sugar Mills at Callawassie
Old Sugar Mill at Callawassie Island
Botanical Gardens
Botanical Gardens

Now that I have this major thing checked off of my ever growing to-do list I can move on to more exciting things like food and decorations. I haven’t begun to feel the stress yet, but I don’t know if that’s just because we have over a year to go or not… Now my next task is to come up with a creative “wedding hash tag” (something our parents and grandparents didn’t have the pleasure of; welcome to weddings in the 21st century).

Kelsey ♡

Leave a Reply

