Life

Enjoy Today

Senioritis: (n.) an affliction of students in their final year of school, characterized by a decline in motivation or performance.

Yes it is a real disease, and yes I am currently suffering from it.

Today marks six months until I will run walk across the stage in the prettiest little stadium in America and receive my diploma. I absolutely CAN. NOT. WAIT. While many wish they could do college all over again, I am all about being finished. My motivation this semester is at an all time low and I’ve probably skipped more class than the last three years combined. I feel anxious, like I can’t get my life started soon enough. I’m ready for things to start happening: to get married and buy a house and have a big girl job. There are so many things I’m looking forward to that I almost forget about enjoying my life right now. Six months from now my life is going to change. My college career will be over and my worries will be different. It’s easy to get caught up in the possibilities of the future while the present is just passing me by.

So while this is my last six months with the stress of papers and tests and studying, it is also my last six months of living in my college town. It’s my last six months of sleeping in where I don’t have to get up and go a nine to five everyday or have real world responsibilities and bills to pay. This is even my last six months of using my college ID to get student discounts at stores and restaurants (Okay, now that is super depressing).

I have so much to look forward to, especially in 2016, but it’s time to take a step back and enjoy each day God has given me.

♡, Kelsey

ess

Leave a Reply

