Life

New Year, New Me! Seriously…

I know, I know… cliché and overused, right? You think, “People are going to be exactly the same, with maybe some good intentions of starting resolutions then slacking off in a month or so.” But that’s exactly the negative outlook people have and as to why they never change; why they are exactly the same as they were the year before. Each year should be a learning experience. You should grow as a person, grow your knowledge, and grow your relationships, with the most important relationship being with Jesus Christ.

This past year I have definitely slacked off in that aspect of my life. Going to church was more of a hassle to get up on Sunday mornings. I’m embarrassed to say that I could not tell you how many times I picked up my Bible. I would often fall asleep before I even said my prayers. Our whole relationship was put on the backburner. Despite some good things that have happened this year, I’m ready to put 2015 behind me and focus on the new year. That’s not to say I’m not thankful for it, or I didn’t learn anything from it, just that I am going to make 2016 everything it wasn’t.

It’s all about attitude. If I set out on this new year with the same attitude and way of thinking then it surly won’t be any different. I don’t want to be the same person year after year, living a life that I’m not proud of. I don’t want a stagnant relationship with Christ. It takes waking up each day, and not just going through the motions, but actually taking the effort to make it better than the day before.

So here’s to 2016 and the exciting things to come this year; my internship, my graduation, Gracie’s graduation, my wedding, and so many more things that are in store.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” John 14:27

So, new year, new me & to be continued…

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

