Life

Goodbye, 2016

It’s been almost a year since my last post, and boy, what a year it has been. It’s a collective running joke that 2016 was all around terrible and I will be the first to Amen to that. Little did I know then, this past year would be one of the hardest years of my life. On a bigger scale as a country, we dealt with major blows socially and survived the toughest political campaign in history. On a personal level, I almost don’t even know where to begin.

Good things happened this year. I graduated from the best university in America. I started my “big girl job” (which I have quit, but we will get to that later.) Jake and I bought our first home. We had the most beautiful wedding and went on our dream honeymoon. And we have a new little addition to our family in our nephew, Deacon. Those are just a few of the really good things I don’t want to forget, but this year is tainted with some things I really wish I could.

It’s hard to type out all your feelings and spill your thoughts without revealing too much for fear of criticism. I want to be as transparent as possible but some things are still too fresh that unfortunately I am still dealing with almost a year later. Plus, they are not necessarily my demons to tell. I promise myself and whoever is reading that one day I will share because I know it could possibly help others out there.

I love the promise of a new year; a new chance at maybe getting things right this go-around. I know you don’t have to wait a 365 days to change something, but what better time than the start of a new year. It is a time of reflection and self-evaluation. Seeing things you have been doing and trying things differently. I am one of those crazy people that make lists for everything, so I love resolutions. I came up with six that I hope to keep, and that my friends and family keep me accountable for.

  1. De-clutter

By this I mean get rid of the unnecessary things in my life that no longer bring me joy or have no worth. (Side note: I have been watching minimalist videos and they will change your life.)

  1. Save money

Budget, budget, budget! Jake and I are currently living on just his income, and although he makes great money, I do not want to live paycheck to paycheck. This ties into number one by stopping purchasing unnecessary stuff that we do not need.

  1. Be productive

I currently do not have a job (or hobby) so while I am trying to figure my life out, I can still be productive and get things done each day.

  1. Get healthier

You would think working out and eating clean was comparable to putting my hand on a hot stove because, geez, this is SO HARD for me. Which is why it’s my same resolution year after year. It is easy to be lazy and it’s waaaay easier (and cheaper) to eat junk. But 2017 is the year for me!

  1. Relationships

I am the epitome of an introvert. I much rather stay at home and watch HGTV than hang out with others, and because of that my friendships suffer. This year I plan to make more time for my friends and family.

  1. Be an ACTIVE Christian

Out of all my resolutions this is the most important. Last year I talked about how slack I had been in my relationship with Jesus and shamefully this past year wasn’t too much different. This is my number one priority this year.

I am optimistically looking forward to 2017. There are many things I can’t control, but what I can control is my response to the things that happen. I hope to be more proactive than reactive this year and not just be a passenger as life passes me by.

With love,

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

