Life

What Now?

Let’s take a trip back to graduation in May of 2016. I was constantly searching for a job in the area, and probably applied to more than fifty. I was getting the same responses, “sorry you don’t quite fit our qualifications” or “we’re looking for someone with a little more experience.” Suddenly the horror story I’d hear of the percentage of college graduates that are unemployed was coming true, and for me, no less. I felt like I did what I was supposed to. I went to college, got my bachelors degree, and all for what? To become a statistic? A degree was supposed to open doors for me, allow me to get a job.

I was finishing up my internship at the Sheriff’s office when I found an ad to a job in Statesboro that indicated, “no experience required.” Of course I jumped on it and within less than a month and a couple of interviews later, I had my first big girl job. Unfortunately, I could tell pretty soon this would not be a long-term career for me. While it offered many promotional opportunities, it was based on selling, and one thing I am not, is a saleswoman.

Fast-forward four months and I am absolutely miserable. I was travelling over four hours a day, dealing with obnoxious customers, working over fifty hours a week, and not for compatible compensation. I wouldn’t see Jake for three to four days at a time since he is on night shift and I would be gone for work before he got home and visa versa. I could quickly see that the way to the top was through manipulation and cheating the system by fudging numbers. I have had pretty strong conviction since I was little and was not going to cheat people out of their money just so I could get a promotion.

I don’t want to seem ungrateful for the opportunity and actually having a good paying job, but what is worth waking up every single day and counting down the minutes until it’s over? Some things are much more important (i.e. happiness and sanity.) So after Jake and I returned from our honeymoon, I put in my two weeks. Granted, I thought I had another job lined up, but sadly that fell through.

Now I am back to square one wondering what now… Tomorrow will be two months since my last day at work, and I do not regret it one little bit. It’s scary not knowing what the future holds. The hardest part is just trying to figure out what I’m supposed to be doing with my life. I find myself constantly praying for God to just show me my purpose and to open the right doors for me. I am a firm believer that everything happens for a reason so I just have to be patient and trust that God obviously knows what’s best for me.

In the mean time, I guess I just try to enjoy my life (as a 22-year-old housewife) and be thankful for all of the time I’m getting to spend with my husband. I know not to take each day for granted. Regardless if I know what it is or not, there is a purpose for me in this world, and I’ll figure it out in God’s time.

jesus

xoxo,

Kelsey

Leave a Reply

